The First in the Hattie Farwell Mystery Series:
The IPPY Award-Winning
“Mission: Murder”

Mission: MurderWith the single impact of a hit-and-run incident, octogenarian Hattie Farwell is forever jolted out of a comfortable retirement in rural Bucks County, Pennsylvania, and into the world of high-stakes political intrigue when her best friend since childhood is killed leaving a concert in nearby Philadelphia.

Suddenly, a grieving Hattie is drifting amid a web of deceit and the uncomfortable dynamics of the family her friend left behind. Meanwhile, the incident begins to look less like an accident and more like murder.

But who would kill sweet, gentle Annie…and why? Once Hattie convinces the police to investigate, their efforts turn up more questions than answers, and her patience wears thin.

Finally, aided by Annie’s two granddaughters and her own huge dog, Wolf, Hattie sets out to pursue her own ideas about what might have happened to her dear friend. Between Wolf’s nose for trouble and Hattie’s determination to solve the murder no matter what it takes, she finds herself navigating an unsavory—and increasingly dangerous—path to the truth.

Tag along as America’s latest unlikely sleuth uncovers the ugly underside of political campaigns, marital infidelity, and more than one old family secret that someone will stop at nothing to keep hidden.

$12.95 – Available from Word Forge Books

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • ISBN-10: 0-9771329-1-9
  • ISBN-13: 978-0-9771329-1-1
  • Publisher: ShadowDance Press, an imprint of Word Forge Books (August 15, 2008)
  • In-Print Editions: Hardcover with jacket

Humor, Heartache & Harrowing Tales:
Keeping Memories Alive

Compiled by Doris Mackenzie

Betty contributed a story to this book of first-person accounts of times long past. Writers share their memories of raising a pet black bear, living in a secret apartment in a city sports stadium, a loveless childhood, shooting out Christmas tree lights, surviving the Great Depression and World War II, and many more events that touch on the vastness of the American experience. More than and 100 authors reminisce through more than 180 stories. Some will make you laugh, some will make you cry, some are simply nostalgic, but you’ll find yourself coming back to these pages again and again, as you would to an old and comfortable friend.

$33.50 – Available from

  • Paperback: 460 pages
  • ISBN-10: 1412053455
  • ISBN-13: 978-1412053457
  • Publisher: Trafford Publishing (July 6, 2006)
  • In-Print Editions: Softcover, Kindle e-book